Oil Reviews

Monthly EO Review: Lavender (plus bonus DIY recipe!)

If you’ve heard anything about essential oils (and, let’s face it, you’re on the internet right now  so you’ve probably at least (possibly only) heard of oils and yoga pants), you’ve heard about lavender. It’s sort of the “original” essential oil, as it were, and a good starting point if you’re new to the whole thing and are trying to figure out what oils are all about.

Lavender is a flowering plant that usually grows in more tropical/warm locations, and the oil is steam distilled from the flowers themselves. Most people are familiar with its use in aromatherapy, and even non hippies tend to associate its scent with calmness and serenity.

What you may not know is that lavender’s uses go beyond just helping you chill out. It’s been shown to be a good all-purpose oil, helpful for both mental and physical healing as well as general cleansing (body, air, etc) and skin health.

Review: honestly, I’m not in love with the smell. It’s very flowery and it’s not that it’s really gross but if you said “what do you think smells good?” lavender just isn’t going to be my answer. That being said, it is one of my go-tos for diffusing and a staple in my face oil (recipe to follow). I love to diffuse it in my kiddos’ room at night with cedarwood (knocks them out every time!). It goes with almost every other oil, scent wise, and definitely has that calming effect it’s famous for. Overall, it’s a fantastic general-purpose oil and, if you’re going to get serious about this oil gig, one of the first you should try (honestly, even if you’re not going to get serious about it. If you’re only ever going to buy one oil, make it lavender).

Basically: I’m not going to say it’s the best smelling oil but if you’re going to try oils at all you should definitely get this one because it just DOES SO MUCH.

Ok. Recipe. I’ve been making my own face moisturizer for I’m not even sure how long now, because I could never find one simultaneously minimalist in ingredients and price tag to suit my tastes (before you ask, no- I don’t know the price point of what I’m about to share with you; all I know is it’s cheaper than a $15 tube of organic moisturizer that lasts me all of 2 months and is, in my experience, way better on my skin. Although maybe it’s just the lack of stress from not having spent $15 on it that so drastically improves my complexion). Anyway. This is what I use on my combination, oily in the summer, dry in the winter, still-breaks-out-even-though-my-teenage-years-are-so-far-behind-me-I-can-remember-life-without-Facebook skin.

  • 1 oz of carrier oil (I have been using grapeseed with a little argan oil mixed in; this is a good all purpose mix for most skin types. I also change it up by making a portion of it olive, coconut, or apricot seed oil depending on the season or my skin’s mood at the time)
  • ~5 drops each of the following skin-healthy oils
    • Lavender (thar she blows!)
    • Frankincense
    • Patchouli
    • Geranium
    • Cedarwood
  • Glass container with a dropper top (I use a leftover Argan oil bottle but you can buy several different options on Amazon)

Put them in. Mix them up. Put them on your face. Voila.

I use mine in the morning after I wash my face (with my homemade face wash; a recipe for which may be forthcoming in future posts). Around 3 drops is perfect to cover my whole face without leaving an oily residue.

Where does lavender rank on your essential oil must-have list? If you try this recipe, let me know how it works for you. If you change up the essential oils involved (or already have a recipe you use), I wanna hear about it!

4 thoughts on “Monthly EO Review: Lavender (plus bonus DIY recipe!)

Leave a Reply

