December Daily Blog Challenge · Pop Up Posts

Pop-Up Post: On The Road Again

{December Daily Blog Challenge #21: Do You Travel for the Holidays?}

I remember traveling for Christmas exactly once in my childhood. We went to my aunt and uncle’s house about an hour away from my hometown. There was a lot of snow, which made the drive challenging (I may have invented this detail at some later remembrance of the event). I don’t remember why we made this particular trip, as my mom’s second Cardinal Christmas Rule (TM) (the one right after “you have to say you believe in Santa to get presents”) is “No Traveling For Christmas” (though, to be fair, she often afterward cited this trip as one proof text as to why).

Since flying the nest, as it were, I have tended toward the same mindset (spending Christmas at home) with a very small handful of exceptions. For me, Christmas and home are irreparably connected.

Do you travel for the holidays?

 

 

Leave a Reply

